Featured Lectures

The George Solomon Memorial Lecture

The George Solomon Memorial Lecture was newly established in 2014 and is named for a most prominent figure in the history of PNI.  George Solomon was truly a visionary; very early in his career, he came to believe that certain diseases, such as autoimmune diseases, were modified by psychological factors.  His formal investigations into the connections between the mind and body, as well as their implications for health and disease date back to his first published reports in the early 1960’s.  Throughout his illustrious career, Dr. Solomon was a strong leader of our field, an outspoken advocate for our science, and a warm and generous collaborator, mentor and friend.  This lecture has been endowed by his wife, Susan Keran Solomon, to honor the history of PNI and the Society, and to provide an annual forum for discussion of the important interconnections between psychological and physical processes for health and illness.

Previous George Solomon Memorial Lectures:

2023 - Lucile Capuron, Ph.D.
2022 - Neil Harrison, M.D., Ph.D.
2021 - Andrew Miller, M.D.
2019 - Susan Lutgendorf, Ph.D.
2018 - Michael Irwin, M.D.
2017 - Janice Kiecolt-Glaser, Ph.D.
2016 - Andrew Steptoe, Ph.D.
2015 - John Morley, M.D.
2014 - Richard J. Davidson, Ph.D.

Back to Top

The Norman Cousins Award Lecture

The Norman Cousins Award is the highest honor given by the PsychoNeuroImmunology Research Society to an individual for outstanding contributions to research in psychoneuroimmunology.  Norman Cousins was an articulate spokesman and advocate for psychoneuroimmunology, whose support and generosity has facilitated the career development of many investigators in this interdisciplinary field of endeavor.  To contribute to the advancement of knowledge in psychoneuroimmunology, Ellen Cousins, Norman’s wife, created the Norman Cousins Memorial Fund, and the California Wellness Foundation provided the endowment for the Norman Cousins Memorial Award and Lecture to be delivered as a highlight of the annual meeting of the PsychoNeuroImmunology Research Society. 


Back To Top

The Robert Ader New Investigator Award Lecture

In honor of Dr. Robert Ader, a pioneer in the field of psychoneuroimmunology, the PsychoNeuroImmunology Research Society presents the Robert Ader New Investigator Award.  This prestigious award is presented to an outstanding new research scientist who has made exciting basic science or clinical contributions to the field of PNI. The award honors Dr. Ader’s innovation and creativity as a scientist and recognizes his contributions to the instantiation of PNI as a meaningful endeavor dedicated to the betterment of health and the prevention of disease.

Read  More...

Back To Top

Ronald Glaser Fund

The Ronald Glaser Fund provides the opportunity to honor Ron for all his contributions to the field of psychoneuroimmunology.  As a pioneer in our field, Ron made contributions that have advanced psychoneuroimmunology in many ways.  His efforts provided exemplary support for colleagues, trainees and patients around the world with stress-associated illnesses.  The “Frontiers “ lecture will serve as a recognition of Ron’s influence across a broad spectrum of biology and medicine and honor those contributions.

The Frontiers in PNI Lecture

The Frontiers in Psychoneuroimmunology lecture is supported by generous donations to the PNIRS Excellence Fund.  The PNIRS Excellence Fund was established in 2011 to recruit outstanding non-PNIRS member scientists to participate in our annual meetings. By supporting outstanding invited lectures, we aim to further increase the visibility of our Society and to inspire the next generation of scientists exploring brain, behavior, and immunity.  To support the PNIRS Excellence Fund, please see “Make a Donation” on the homepage of www.pnirs.org.

Previous Ronald Glaser Frontiers in PNI Lectures:

2023 - John F. Cryan, Ph.D.
2022 - Jonathan (Jony) Kipnis, Ph.D.
2021 - Matthias Nahrendorf, M.D.
2019 - Lluis Quintana-Murci, Ph.D.
2018 - Annamaria Vezzani, Ph.D.
2017 - Martin Picard, Ph.D.
2016 - Hermona Soreq, Ph.D.
2014 - Tracy Bale, Ph.D.